How to get involved

The ASWCC aims to enhance every student's experience at Whatcom Community College by providing students a means to be represented in College decision making and by fostering communication among all students, faculty, staff, and alumni.

If you want more information about student council, drop by Syre 208 or come to a student council meeting every other Thursday from 1:30-2:30 p.m. in Syre 216.

To join the ASWCC student council, students must meet the following requirements:

  • Enrollment in a minimum of 8 credit hours per quarter, while maintaining at least a 2.5 GPA
  • Attend bi-weekly meetings on Thursdays at 1:30 p.m. in Syre 216

Mission statement: To serve students by providing diverse opportunities for campus involvement, to build campus community and represent student concerns in college decision-making.

Vision statement: ASWCC aims to achieve a dynamic campus environment in which all students are represented and have an opportunity to participate.

The Associated Students of Whatcom Community College (ASWCC) represent students in many important ways. It serves as an advocate for solving student problems, reviews College policies affecting students, holds issue forums, and conducts surveys to determine student needs. The ASWCC council of representatives has significant input into College decision making, with students serving as members of College committees such as the budget advisory committee and the campus planning committee. With other students around the state, it represents student concerns to the Washington State Legislature and to state officials. It manages the Services and Activities (S & A) Fee budget, sets goals and priorities, and develops a proposed budget for approval by the WCC Board of Trustees.

The S & A fee budget is derived from fees that each student pays as part of tuition. With these funds, the council of representatives supports services such as the Office of Student Life, the student newspaper, student activities committee, intercollegiate sports, co-curricular programs and student clubs.

Membership on the council offers an opportunity for students to earn college credits and a stipend while gaining valuable leadership experience, which can be applied to future endeavors, such as business, community activities, or government service.

Current Executive Board Members

Position

Name  Email
President
Fahren Mansour
 fmansour@whatcom.ctc.edu
Executive Vice President Victoria Matey  vmatey@whatcom.ctc.edu
Director of Clubs and Organizations Matthew Smiley  msmiley@whatcom.ctc.edu
Director of Operations Aldo Suseno  asuseno@whatcom.ctc.edu
Campus Leadership Coordinator
Club Coordinator
Honey Dubes  hdubes@whatcom.ctc.edu
Campus Leadership Coordinator
Legislative Coordinator
Brenda Druhall  bdruhall@whatcom.ctc.edu
Campus Leadership Coordinator
Administrative Coordinator
Eugenia Susanto  esusanto@whatcom.ctc.edu
Campus Leadership Coordinator
Campus Advocacy
Hope Robinson
 hrobinson@whatcom.ctc.edu